Roller Girl

#ad
Dial Books #ad - In this graphic novel debut that earned a newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power! Dial Books. But after astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead.

. The newbery honor award winner and new york times bestseller roller girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!  For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole.

Roller Girl #ad - And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout and junior high! draws closer, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, strong enough to be a roller girl.

#ad



All's Faire in Middle School

#ad
Dial Books #ad - Impy falls in with a group of girls who seem really nice until they don't and starts to be embarrassed of her thrift shop apparel, and their small, her family's unusual lifestyle, messy apartment. Luckily impy has just the quest in mind—she'll go to public school after a life of being homeschooled! But it's not easy to act like a noble knight-in-training in middle school.

Calling all raina telgemeier fans! the newbery Honor-winning author of Roller Girl is back with a heartwarming graphic novel about starting middle school, surviving your embarrassing family, and the Renaissance Faire. First, though, she'll need to prove her bravery. Impy has always thought of herself as a heroic knight, but when she does something really mean in order to fit in, she begins to wonder whether she might be more of a dragon after all.

All's Faire in Middle School #ad - As she did in roller girl, victoria Jamieson perfectly—and authentically—captures the bittersweetness of middle school life with humor, warmth, and understanding. Eleven-year-old imogene impy has grown up with two parents working at the Renaissance Faire, and she's eager to begin her own training as a squire.

#ad



El Deafo

#ad
Harry N. Abrams #ad - Someone readers will enjoy getting to know. Publishers weekly, starred review "Worthy of a superhero. Kirkus reviews, starred review "this empowering autobiographical story belongs right next to Raina Telgemeier’s Smile 2011 and Liz Prince’s Tomboy. Booklist Amulet Books. The phonic ear gives cece the ability to hear—sometimes things she shouldn’t—but also isolates her from her classmates.

But going to school and making new friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid strapped to your chest? That requires superpowers! In this funny, poignant graphic novel memoir, author/illustrator Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a very powerful—and very awkward—hearing aid.

El Deafo #ad - She really just wants to fit in and find a true friend, someone who appreciates her as she is. New york times bestseller a 2015 Newbery Honor Book Going to school and making new friends can be tough. After some trouble, she is finally able to harness the power of the Phonic Ear and become “El Deafo, Listener for All.

And more importantly, declare a place for herself in the world and find the friend she’s longed for. Praise for el deafostarred reviews "a standout autobiography.

#ad



Real Friends

#ad
First Second #ad - Even if it means bullying others. Now every day is like a roller coaster for Shannon. Everyone in the group wants to be Jen's #1, and some girls would do anything to stay on top. But one day, adrienne starts hanging out with Jen, the most popular girl in class and the leader of a circle of friends called The Group.

Fresh and funny. New york times book reviewnewbery honor author shannon hale and New York Times bestselling illustrator LeUyen Pham join forces in this graphic memoir about how hard it is to find your real friends―and why it's worth the journey. When best friends are not forever. Shannon and adrienne have been best friends ever since they were little.

Real Friends #ad - . First second. Will she and adrienne stay friends? can she stand up for herself? and is she in the group―or out?parents magazine Best Graphic Novel of 2017A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2017A 2017 Booklist Youth Editors' ChoiceA 2018 YALSA Great Graphic Novel Amulet Books.

#ad



Awkward Berrybrook Middle School

#ad
Yen Press #ad - First second. Though she later feels guilty and wants desperately to apologize for the incident, Peppi always ends up chickening out. A sweet tale about two kids navigating the precarious and awkward waters of adolescence and middle school. She has no reason to speak to him, anyway, until she ends up bumping--figuratively and continually--into Jamie again! Will these two opposites ever see eye-to-eye, let alone become friends? Amulet Books.

So when she bumps--literally--into quiet, geeky, friendly but friendless Jamie Thompson, and is teased as the "Nerder's Girlfriend, " Peppi's first embarrassed instinct is to push him away and run. The last thing she wants is to stand out. Penelope--peppi--torres, a shy new transfer student, wants nothing more than to fit in and find a place among her fellow artistically inclined souls.

Awkward Berrybrook Middle School #ad - . Yen Press.

#ad



Invisible Emmie Emmie & Friends

#ad
Balzer + Bray #ad - This is the story of two totally different girls—quiet, artistic Emmiepopular, shy, outgoing, athletic Katie—and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands. Balzer bray. All the crushes, boredom, humiliations, and drama of middle school are compressed into one surprising day in this extraordinary novel.

And don't miss terri Libenson's next book, Positively Izzy! Amulet Books. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. Holm, creator of the internationally syndicated, Invisible Emmie is a humorous and surprising debut graphic novel by Terri Libenson, Reuben Award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries.

Invisible Emmie Emmie & Friends #ad - First second. Yen Press.

#ad



Ghosts

#ad
GRAPHIX #ad - Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. Yen Press. Balzer bray.

Graphix. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister's sake -- and her own. Raina telgemeier has masterfully created a moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.

Ghosts #ad - First second. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. Amulet Books.

#ad



The War that Saved My Life

#ad
Dial Books #ad - Balzer bray. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to let her outside. Graphix. First second. As ada teaches herself to ride a pony, and watches for German spies, learns to read, she begins to trust Susan—and Susan begins to love Ada and Jamie. Amulet Books. Ten-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment.

So when her little brother jamie is shipped out of London to escape the war, Ada doesn’t waste a minute—she sneaks out to join him. Yen Press. Dial Books. 1 new york times bestsellernewbery honor bookwinner of the schneider family book award middle schoolwall street Journal Best Children's Books of 2015New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War II, from the acclaimed author of Jefferson’s Sons and for fans of Number the Stars.

The War that Saved My Life #ad - So begins a new adventure for Ada, and for Susan Smith, the woman who is forced to take the two kids in. But in the end, will their bond be enough to hold them together through wartime? Or will Ada and her brother fall back into the cruel hands of their mother?   This masterful work of historical fiction is equal parts adventure and a moving tale of family and identity—a classic in the making.

#ad



Drama

#ad
Graphix #ad - From raina telgemeier, the #1 new york Times bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of Smile and Sisters! Callie loves theater. And while she would totally try out for her middle school's production of Moon over Mississippi, she can't really sing. Graphix. Dial Books. First second. Balzer bray. Instead she's the set designer for the drama department's stage crew, and this year she's determined to create a set worthy of Broadway on a middle-school budget.

Yen Press. Graphix. And when two cute brothers enter the picture, things get even crazier!   Amulet Books. But how can she, when she doesn't know much about carpentry, ticket sales are down, and the crew members are having trouble working together? Not to mention the onstage AND offstage drama that occurs once the actors are chosen.

#ad



Real Friends

#ad
First Second #ad - Graphix. Fresh and funny. New york times book reviewnewbery honor author shannon hale and New York Times bestselling illustrator LeUyen Pham join forces in this graphic memoir about how hard it is to find your real friends―and why it's worth the journey. When best friends are not forever. Everyone in the group wants to be Jen's #1, and some girls would do anything to stay on top.

Graphix. But one day, adrienne starts hanging out with Jen, the most popular girl in class and the leader of a circle of friends called The Group. First second. Dial Books. Will she and adrienne stay friends? can she stand up for herself? and is she in the group―or out?parents magazine Best Graphic Novel of 2017A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2017A 2017 Booklist Youth Editors' ChoiceA 2018 YALSA Great Graphic Novel Amulet Books.

Real Friends #ad - Even if it means bullying others. Now every day is like a roller coaster for Shannon. Balzer bray. Shannon and adrienne have been best friends ever since they were little. First second.

#ad



Sisters

#ad
Graphix #ad - Amara is cute, grouchy baby, but she's also a cranky, and mostly prefers to play by herself. Graphix. Graphix. But once amara is born, things aren't quite how she expected them to be. Dial Books. Their relationship doesn't improve much over the years, but when a baby brother enters the picture and later, something doesn't seem right between their parents, they realize they must figure out how to get along.

Amulet Books. First second. They are sisters, after all. Balzer bray. Yen Press. First second. Raina uses her signature humor and charm in both present-day narrative and perfectly placed flashbacks to tell the story of her relationship with her sister, which unfolds during the course of a road trip from their home in San Francisco to a family reunion in Colorado.

Sisters #ad - Raina telgemeier’s #1 new york times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning companion to Smile! Raina can't wait to be a big sister. Graphix.

#ad